mobile lab suit cases :::: Malepin BIOtransLab

Paula Pin

Exhibition of the Biotranslab/gynepunk/pechblenda
General objectives that result in the final realization of the BioTransLab mobile laboratory  :

  • Increase self-anatomical knowledge through pleasure and biomedical research.
  • Generate accessible tools and techniques to improve knowledge and practices on sexual health and ecological environments.
  • Reduce the cost of scientific instruments through recycling, reuse and creativity. It is located at the crossroads between scientific research, the culture of do it yourself, replicating open science solutions and Open Source and biohacking networks and the cooperation between virtual and physical networks for the creative and ingenious development of new or applied solutions.
  • Generate spaces of visibility and debate about dissident sexualities and health rights of sex workers from a Transfeminist perspective.
  • The empowerment of the base to have tools to fight against sexual violence, discrimination and stigmatization of medical institutions, and bioselfdefense (HIV tests, HPV tests, pregnancy tests, contraceptive techniques, menstrual extraction, hormones and information alternative on the termination of pregnancy).
  • Creation of tools for a basic and functional mobile biolab of diagnosis and knowledge of the body and environment that we inhabit. It will be scalable and applicable according to the needs of communities and environments.

The whole process in hackteriaLab wiki, Calafou wiki and now in the present turned to the GidSpinoza wiki

https://prototypome.gridspinoza.net/index.php/Prototyp-omeAutoresidence

Artistic Statement and Approach

In the last years after my graduation from Fine Arts College, I have been developing an interest in DIY-DIWO technologies, hacking and hardware electronics, in a context of learning by doing in a transhackfeminist electronics open laboratory (Pechblenda) that I co-founded in Calafou, a free technologies based in ecology and open source ideals. Calafou is the place where different personalities whose trajectories are linked to collectives dealing with trans-gender, transhackfeminist, activist research, technological sovereignty, ecological issues, audiovisual production, transformation of spaces and performances. As a one person that was living there for the last four years I was involved in the day live developments and co-organizing most of the free, open technology events there.

My active participation in the lab Pechblenda and Transnoise, besides my social ideals and my work as a noise performance, has taken me to many spaces and contexts, specially  to the point of starting to collaborate in Hackteria, a biohacking network. Open up again the opportunity to give up workshops as a facilitator all around the world always putting the focus on spread the knowledge and share experience over a transfeminism horizontal perspective.

The last two years, after bio and transhackfeminist values I have been designing and fabricating the devices for a Mobile Lab  that is used for autonomous gynecology practices and investigation. As my knowledge in electronics is based on open source and DIY, the devices included in the laboratory are portable replications of a microscope, a speculun done with a 3D printer, an incubator and a centrifuge.

EXHIBITION FROM NOVEMBER 16th TO DECEMBER 2nd

Every day 3 pm to 6 pm

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th

11 am – 5 pm : Workshop mobile lab suit cases :::: Malpin BIOtransLab
Daily rate : Full 20€ / Reduced 10€ (Students, job-seekers)

Workshops : Registration by email
Contact : Julien Record +33 2 48 50 42 47

DIMANCHE 18 NOVEMBRE

18:00: Restitution d’atelier

NADIR – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 route de la Chapelle
18000 Bourges
Paula Pin (Lugo, 1982) is a Transhackfeminist performer and researcher, graduated from art schools in Barcelona and Sao Paulo. Her work travels the fields of abstract video and circuit-bending, going through research at the frontiers of biology, art and queer. Plants, micro-organisms, alternative energies, the question of the laboratory, made her think of her body in a new angle, integrated in the sense of a complex network of interactions, blurring the tracks between machines, animals, plants, and opening up new horizons for art and performance.

mobile lab suit cases :::: Malepin BIOtransLab

Paula Pin

Exposition du Biotranslab / gynepunk / pechblenda
Objectifs généraux résultant de la réalisation finale du laboratoire mobile BioTransLab :

  • augmentation des connaissances de l’anatomie personnel par le plaisir et la recherche biomédicale.
  • créer des outils et des techniques accessibles pour améliorer les connaissances et les pratiques en terme de santé sexuelle et d’écologie.
  • réduire le coût des instruments scientifiques par le recyclage, le réemploi et la créativité. Ceci se situe à la frontière entre la recherche scientifique, la culture DIY, la transposition des solutions de la Science ouverte, de l’open source, des réseaux de biohacking* et de la coopération des réseaux virtuels et physiques pour le développement ingénieux et créatif de nouvelles solutions appliquées.
  • créer des espaces de visibilités et de débats à propos des sexualités dissidentes et des droits en matière de santé sexuelle des travaill·eur·euse·s du sexe, ceci avec un point de vue transféministe.
  • l’appropriation des outils de lutte contre les violences sexuelles, la discrimination et la stigmatisation de la part des centres médicaux, ainsi que l’autodéfense médicale (tests de séropositivité, tests de Papillomavirus humain, tests de grossesse, moyens contraceptifs, techniques d’avortements chirurgicales et médicamenteuses).
  • création d’outils pour un biolab mobile simple et fonctionnel pour diagnostiquer et accroître les connaissances sur le corps et l’environnement que nous habitons. Ceci sera adapté et appliqué en fonction des besoins des communautés et des environnements.

Tout le processus est plus amplement documenté sur le wiki de HackteriaLab, le wiki de Calafou et désormais sur le wiki GidSpinoza

https://prototypome.gridspinoza.net/index.php/Prototyp-omeAutoresidence

Approche et démarche de l’artiste

Les années suivants mes études aux beaux-arts, j’ai développé un intérêt pour les technologies DIY-DIWO (Do It Yourself / Do It With Others), pour le hacking et pour le l’équipement électronique dans un contexte d’apprentissage par la pratique. C’est ainsi que j’ai co-fondé Pechblenda à Calafou, un laboratoire ouvert d’électronique transhackféministe, utilisant des technologies basées sur des idéaux d’écologie et d’open source. Le transgenre, le transhackfémisme, la recherche activiste, l’indépendance technologique, les problèmes écologiques, la production audiovisuelle, la mise en espace et la performance, sont les valeurs qui relient les différentes personnalités travaillant à Calafou. Y ayant vécu durant quatre ans, j’ai participé au développement et à la co-organisation de la plupart des événements de technologie ouverte et gratuite qui s’y déroulaient.

Mes idéaux sociaux, mon travail de performance acoustique et ma participation active aux laboratoires Pechblenda et Transnoise m’ont conduit dans de nombreux lieux et contextes, et m’ont notamment permit de collaborer avec Hackteria, un réseau de biohacking*. J’ai ainsi eu la possibilité d’animer des ateliers dans le monde entier, en mettant toujours l’accent sur le partage des connaissances et le partage des expériences dans une perspective horizontale du transfémisme.

Au cours des deux dernières années, après avoir développé des valeurs bio et transhackféministes, j’ai conçu et produit des dispositifs pour un laboratoire mobile utilisé pour des pratiques et des recherches autonomes en gynécologie. Puisque mes connaissances en électronique sont basées sur l’open source et le bricolage, les appareils inclus dans le laboratoire sont des répliques portables d’un microscope, d’un spéculum réalisé avec une imprimante 3D, d’un incubateur et d’une centrifugeuse.

* biohacking: détournements dans le domaine de la biologie, expression construite sur le modèle du hacking en informatique

EXPOSITION DU 16 NOVEMBRE AU 2 DÉCEMBRE

Tous les jours de 15h à 18h

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

SAMEDI 17 NOVEMBRE et DIMANCHE 18 NOVEMBRE

11h – 17h : Atelier – mobile lab suit cases :::: Malpin BIOtransLab
Tarif journalier : Plein 20€ / réduit 10€ (adhérents et demandeurs d’emplois) / gratuit pour les étudiants

Ateliers // Workshops : Inscription par mail
Contact : Julien Record +33 2 48 50 42 47

DIMANCHE 18 NOVEMBRE

18:00: Restitution d’atelier

NADIR – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 route de la Chapelle
18000 Bourges
Paula Pin (Lugo, 1982) est performeuse et chercheuse transhackféministe, diplômée des écoles d’art de Barcelone et de Sao Paulo. Son travail parcourt les champs de la vidéo abstraite et du circuit-bending, en passant par des recherches aux frontières de la biologie, de l’art et du queer. Les plantes, les micro-organismes, les énergies alternatives, la question du laboratoire, l’ont incitée à penser son corps sous un nouvel angle, intégré au sens d’un réseau complexe d’interactions, brouillant les pistes entre machines, animaux, plantes, et ouvrant d’autres horizons pour l’art et la performance.