“Collaboration Across the Three Domains”

Anna Dumitriu and Alex May

Anna Dumitriu and Alex May will discuss the creative process behind their project “ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form” an underwater robotic installation that explores what ‘life’ might mean in the future. It is based on new research about archaea (one of the three domains of life, along with bacteria and eukaryotes) combined with the latest innovations in machine learning & AI. The new work is created in collaboration with Amanda Wilson from Imperial College and Professor Daniel Polani at the University of Hertfordshire. “ArchaeaBot” builds an extensive body of robotic, digital and bioart works by the artists working both individually and together, often embedded in science settings. They will also give an overview of the rest of their practice(s) and discuss their experience of art/science collaboration as well as some of the benefits. 

http://www.myrobotcompanion.com 

FRIDAY NOVEMBER 16TH

6h00 p.m

NADIR
9 Rue Edouard Branly
18000 Bourges

Anna Dumitriu (1969) is a British artist working with sculpture, craft, installation, biological media, and digital technology to explore our relationship to microbiology, synthetic biology and robotics. Her artistic practice is deeply embedded in laboratory settings and she works hands on with infectious diseases, whole genome sequencing technologies, CRISPR gene editing and building robots. She is artist-in-residence with the Modernising Medical Microbiology Project at the University of Oxford, and with the National Collection of Type Cultures at Public Health England. She holds visiting research fellowships in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire, Brighton and Sussex Medical School, and Waag Society. Prior to her work with the University of Hertfordshire she was a visiting research fellow: artist in residence in the Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics working with artificial life. Dumitriu’s work has a strong focus on the ethical implications of emerging technologies drawing threads across time, exploring future scenarios by reflecting on the past.
Links  Anna Dumitriu on Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin Artist’s website  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) is a British artist exploring a wide range of digital technologies, most notably video projection onto physical objects (building on the technique known as video mapping or projection mapping by using his own bespoke software), also interactive installations, generative works, full-size humanoid robots, performance, and video art. May is a Visiting Research Fellow: Artist in Residence in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire.
Links Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  – Artist’s websitewww.alexmayarts.co.uk

« Collaboration entre les trois domaines »

Anna Dumitriu et Alex May

Anna Dumitriu et Alex May présenteront le processus créatif autour de leur projet ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form (‘ArchaeaBot : Une forme de vie post singularité et post changement climatique’), une installation robotique subaquatique qui explore ce que la notion de « vie » pourrait signifier dans un avenir post singularité et post changement climatique. Elle repose sur de nouvelles recherches à propos des archaea (une des trois branches du vivant avec les bactéries et les eukaryotes) associées aux dernières innovations en intelligence artificielle et apprentissage machine. Cette nouvelle œuvre a été créée en collaboration avec Amanda Wilson de l’Imperial College et le Professeur Daniel Polani de l’Université du Hertfordshire. « ArchaeaBot » déploie un large travail en robotique, art numérique et bioart que les artistes ont développé aussi bien individuellement qu’ensemble, souvent dans des environnements scientifiques. Ils présenteront en outre un panorama de leurs pratiques d’une manière plus générale et feront part de leur expérience dans des collaborations art-science.

JEUDI 15 NOVEMBRE

18h00

NADIR – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 route de la Chapelle
18000 Bourges
Anna Dumitriu (1969) est une artiste britannique qui conjugue sculpture, artisanat, installations, supports biologiques, et technologie numérique  pour explorer notre rapport à la microbiologie, à la biologie de synthèse et à la robotique. Sa pratique artistique est profondément ancrée au sein de  laboratoires où elle travaille sur des maladies infectieuses, des technologies de séquençage du génome entier, sur la manipulation génétique CRISPR et la construction de robots. Artiste en résidence au sein du Projet de Modernisation de Microbiologie Médicale de l’Université d’Oxford, et avec la NCTC (Collection   Nationale de Cultures de Référence) du ministère de la Santé Publique en Angleterre, elle est aussi chercheuse invitée et artiste résidente au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire, chercheuse honoraire à l’École de Médecine du Sussex de Brighton, et chercheuse associée à la Waag Society.
Avant d’intégrer l’Université du Hertfordshire, elle a travaillé sur la vie artificielle en tant que chargée de recherche invitée en résidence d’artiste au  Computational Neuroscience and Robotics Centre (Centre de Neurosciences Computationnelles et Robotique). Le travail de Dumitriu se concentre essentiellement sur les implications éthiques des technologies émergentes, tirant des fils à travers le temps, explorant des scénarii futurs en examinant le passé.
Suivre Anna Dumitriu sur Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin – Site web de l’artiste  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) est un artiste britannique qui explore un vaste champ de technologies numériques, notamment la projection vidéo sur des corps physiques (s’inspirant de la technique de vidéo mapping en utilisant son propre logiciel qu’il  a confectionné sur mesure), et aussi des installations interactives, des œuvres génératives, des robots humanoïdes à taille réelle, des performances et de l’art vidéo. Il est en résidence d’artiste et chercheur invité au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire.
Suivre Alex May sur Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  – Site web de l’artiste :  www.alexmayarts.co.uk