ArchaeaBot Workshop

workshop with Anna Dumitriu and Alex May

Dumitriu and May will lead a practical and theoretical workshop about their project “ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form”. This underwater robotic installation explores what ‘life’ might mean in a post singularity, post climate change future, and is based on new research about archaea (the oldest life forms on the planet) combined with the latest innovations in machine learning & artificial intelligence. 

The artists will explain the research behind the project and explain some of the practical issues involved in constructing and programming the work, with opportunities for hands on activities, and discussion.

The workshop will be in English.

SATURDAY NOVEMBER 17TH

11:00 am – 5:00 pm

ESPACE PEDAGOGIQUE – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 Route de la chapelle
18000 Bourges
Price : Full price 20€ / Reduced price 10€ (Students, job seekers)

Workshops : Registration by email
Contact : Julien Record +33 2 48 50 42 47

SUNDAY NOVEMBER 18TH

6:00 pm: Workshop restitution

NADIR – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 route de la Chapelle
18000 Bourges
Anna Dumitriu (1969) is a British artist working with sculpture, craft, installation, biological media, and digital technology to explore our relationship to microbiology, synthetic biology and robotics. Her artistic practice is deeply embedded in laboratory settings and she works hands on with infectious diseases, whole genome sequencing technologies, CRISPR gene editing and building robots. She is artist-in-residence with the Modernising Medical Microbiology Project at the University of Oxford, and with the National Collection of Type Cultures at Public Health England. She holds visiting research fellowships in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire, Brighton and Sussex Medical School, and Waag Society. Prior to her work with the University of Hertfordshire she was a visiting research fellow: artist in residence in the Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics working with artificial life. Dumitriu’s work has a strong focus on the ethical implications of emerging technologies drawing threads across time, exploring future scenarios by reflecting on the past.
Links  Anna Dumitriu on Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin – Artist’s website  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) is a British artist exploring a wide range of digital technologies, most notably video projection onto physical objects (building on the technique known as video mapping or projection mapping by using his own bespoke software), also interactive installations, generative works, full-size humanoid robots, performance, and video art. May is a Visiting Research Fellow: Artist in Residence in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire.
link Alex May on Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  –  Artist’s websitewww.alexmayarts.co.uk

Atelier ArchaeaBot

Atelier avec Anna Dumitriu & Alex May

Les artistes Anna Dumitriu et Alex May proposent un atelier théorique et pratique autour de leur oeuvre ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form (‘ArchaeaBot : Une forme de vie post singularité et post changement climatique’).

Cette installation robotique subaquatique explore ce que la notion de “vie” pourrait signifier dans un avenir post singularité et post changement climatique. Elle repose sur de nouvelles recherches à propos des archaea (les plus anciennes formes de vie sur Terre) associées aux dernières innovations en intelligence artificielle et apprentissage machine.

Les artistes présenteront la recherche qui sous-tend le projet et détailleront quelques unes des questions pratiques rencontrées pour la fabrication et la programmation de cette oeuvre. Des discussions et une activité pratique seront ouvertes aux participants.

L’atelier se tiendra en anglais.

SAMEDI 17 NOVEMBRE

11H-17H

ESPACE PEDAGOGIQUE – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 Route de la chapelle
18000 Bourges
Prix : Plein tarif 20€ / Tarif réduit 10€ (adhérents et demandeurs d’emplois) / gratuit pour les étudiants

Ateliers // Workshops : Inscription par mail
Contact : Julien Record +33 2 48 50 42 47

DIMANCHE 18 NOVEMBRE

18:00: Restitution d’atelier

NADIR – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 route de la Chapelle
18000 Bourges
Anna Dumitriu (1969) est une artiste britannique qui conjugue sculpture, artisanat, installations, supports biologiques, et technologie numérique  pour explorer notre rapport à la microbiologie, à la biologie de synthèse et à la robotique. Sa pratique artistique est profondément ancrée au sein de  laboratoires où elle travaille sur des maladies infectieuses, des technologies de séquençage du génome entier, sur la manipulation génétique CRISPR et la construction de robots. Artiste en résidence au sein du Projet de Modernisation de Microbiologie Médicale de l’Université d’Oxford, et avec la NCTC (Collection   Nationale de Cultures de Référence) du ministère de la Santé Publique en Angleterre, elle est aussi chercheuse invitée et artiste résidente au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire, chercheuse honoraire à l’École de Médecine du Sussex de Brighton, et chercheuse associée à la Waag Society.
Avant d’intégrer l’Université du Hertfordshire, elle a travaillé sur la vie artificielle en tant que chargée de recherche invitée en résidence d’artiste au  Computational Neuroscience and Robotics Centre (Centre de Neurosciences Computationnelles et Robotique). Le travail de Dumitriu se concentre essentiellement sur les implications éthiques des technologies émergentes, tirant des fils à travers le temps, explorant des scénarii futurs en examinant le passé.
Suivre Anna Dumitriu sur Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin – Site web de l’artiste  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) est un artiste britannique qui explore un vaste champ de technologies numériques, notamment la projection vidéo sur des corps physiques (s’inspirant de la technique de vidéo mapping en utilisant son propre logiciel qu’il  a confectionné sur mesure), et aussi des installations interactives, des œuvres génératives, des robots humanoïdes à taille réelle, des performances et de l’art vidéo. Il est en résidence d’artiste et chercheur invité au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire.
Suivre Alex May sur Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  – Site web de l’artiste :  www.alexmayarts.co.uk