aqua_forensic*, Robertina Šebjanič et Gjino Šutić underwater interception of *Biotweaking in **Aquatocene

aqua_forensic*

Robertina Šebjanič et Gjino Šutić

underwater interception of *Biotweaking in **Aquatocene

aqua_forensic is a research-based project that combines art with high end science and citizen science to collect and process information of invisible anthropogenic pollutants found in the waters of localities in the coastal region of the Adriatic sea. These invisible chemical pollutants (heavy metals, oils, pharmaceuticals, antibiotics, antidepressants, etc.), residues of human consumptions, are discharged as well in other aquatic environments of both fresh and salty waters. The artwork intends to make visible the varieties of these invisible anthropogenic pollutants and the patterns of their effects in the marine habitats through a DIY prototype for a field friendly marine molecular probe. There is also a question and twist in the story: could the ocean supply us with new therapeutics? Marine biotechnological research gives hopes, it can yield useful molecules that can serve as new drugs or help look for new forms of drugs that could be used to fight antibiotic resistance.

EXHIBITION FROM NOVEMBER 16th TO DECEMBER 2nd

Every day 3 pm to 6 pm

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

TUESDAY NOVEMBER 20th TO FRIDAY 23rd

only accessible to students from the Art School of Bourges
WORKSHOP – aqua_forensic, qua_forensic, Robertina Šebjanič & Gjino Šutić

ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPERIEURE D’ART DE BOURGES

9 Rue Edouard Branly
18000 Bourges
*Biotweaking – “act of improving biological organisms on any level, by available means, to exhibit and use to their full potential”, concept coined by Gjino Šutić to fully define his philosophy and work. Biotweaking mostly relies on DIY biotechnology – biohacking for achieving desired goals.
**Aquatocene – is a series of research-based artworks initiated by Robertina Šebjanič that deals with cultural, (bio)political and
biological realities of aquatic environments and its consequences / challenges.
Robertina Šebjanič (SLO) is international exhibited artist. Her artistic work deals with cultural biopolitical and ecological realities of aquatic environments. With her projects she tackles the philosophical questions at the intersection of art technology and science. Her projects are often realized in collaboration with others through interdisciplinary and informal integration in her work. She is member of Hackteria Network and Theremidi Orchestra.
http://robertina.net
Gjino Šutić (CRO) is a biotechnologist post-modern intermedia artist, innovator and educator. He is the founder and director of Universal Research Institute and Gen0 Industries.Gjino conducts research in several fields of science (such as: biotechnology, bioelectronics, experimental electronics, ecological engineering) and postmodern new media art (Bioart, Digital art, Installation art, Multimedia art and Hybrid art).
http://ur-institute.org
Linkedin: http://hr.linkedin.com/pub/gjino-sutic/58/ab/98

aqua_forensic*, Robertina Šebjanič et Gjino Šutić underwater interception of *Biotweaking in **Aquatocene

aqua_forensic*

Robertina Šebjanič et Gjino Šutić

(interception aquatique par Biotweaking dans l’ **Aquatocène)

aqua_forensic est un projet basé sur des recherches combinant arts, sciences de pointe et sciences citoyennes pour collecter et traiter les données sur les polluants anthropiques invisibles que l’on trouve  dans les eaux de localités côtières de la mer adriatique. Ces polluants chimiques invisibles (métaux lourds, hydrocarbures, produits pharmaceutiques, antibiotiques, antidépresseurs, etc..), ainsi que nos déchets de consommation, sont déversés dans les milieux aquatiques, aussi bien dans les eaux douces que  dans les eaux salées. Ce travail artistique tend à rendre visible les différentes variétés de ces polluants anthropiques invisibles, et les modalités de leurs effets sur l’habitat marin, en utilisant un prototype DIY de sonde pour la biologie moléculaire sous-marine. Une question se pose alors, amorçant un nouveau tournant : L’océan serait-il à même de nous fournir de nouvelles thérapeutiques ? La recherche en biotechnologie marine en a bon espoir, l’océan peut produire des molécules utilisables qui peuvent faire office de nouveaux médicaments, ou contribuer à trouver de nouvelles formes de remèdes qui pourraient être utilisés pour contrer  la résistance aux antibiotiques.

EXPOSITION DU 16 NOVEMBRE AU 2 DÉCEMBRE

Tous les jours de 15h à 18h

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

MARDI 20 AU VENDREDI 23 NOVEMBRE

uniquement accessible aux étudiants de l’Ensa de Bourges
Atelier – aqua_forensic, Robertina Šebjanič & Gjino Šutić

ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPERIEURE D’ART DE BOURGES

9 Rue Edouard Branly
18000 Bourges
aqua_forensic* (aqua-légistes/légistes de l’eau)
*Biotweaking (Bio-ajustement/Bio-amélioration) – “action qui consiste à améliorer les organismes biologiques à tous les niveaux, par tous les moyens disponibles, pour démontrer et exploiter leur plein potentiel”,  un concept inventé par Gjino Šutić pour illustrer pleinement sa philosophie et son travail. Le Biotweaking mise essentiellement sur des biotechnologies et bio-hacking DIY pour atteindre ses objectifs.
Robertina Šebjanič (SLO) a exposé dans le monde entier. Son travail artistique aborde les réalités écologiques, culturelles et bio-politiques des milieux aquatiques. Ses projets s’attaquent aux questions philosophiques à la croisée des chemins entre art, science et technologie, et sont souvent menés en collaboration avec d’autres intervenants dans un contexte d’interdisciplinarité et d’intégration informelle. Elle est membre du réseau Hackteria et du Theremidi Orchestra.
http://robertina.net
Gjino Šutić (CRO) est un artiste intermédia post-moderne bio-technologiste, innovateur et pédagogue. Il a fondé et dirige l’Universal Research Institute and Gen0 Industries. Gjino mène des recherches dans différents domaines scientifiques (tels que la biotechnologie, la bio-électronique, l’ingénierie écologique) et différents media artistiques post-modernes (Bio-art, Art numérique, Installation artistique, Arts des multimédia et Art hybride).
http://ur-institute.org
Linkedin: http://hr.linkedin.com/pub/gjino-sutic/58/ab/98