ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form*

Anna Dumitriu et Alex May

ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form by Anna Dumitriu and Alex May takes the form of an underwater robotic installation that explores what ‘life’ might mean in a post singularity, post climate change future.
The project is based on new research about archaea (the oldest lifeforms on Earth) combined with the latest innovations in machine learning and artificial intelligence creating the ‘ultimate’ species for the end of the world as we know it. New research is revealing the mechanisms by which ancient archaea called Sulfolobus acidocaldarius can move around to seek ‘food’ using tails known as archaella. The archaella use cogwheel-like ‘motors’ to swim about. Our collaborator cryo-microscopist Amanda Wilson is studying the structure of these archaella to make tiny drills made of DNA which might be used to drill into cells to cure diseases, but the robotic archaella are made through 3D printing.
The work is made in collaboration with researcher/cryomicroscopist Amanda Wilson as part of the EU FET Open H2020 funded MARA project based in the Beeby Lab at Imperial College London, and with Professor Daniel Polani from the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire. The project is supported through an EMAP/EMARE artists residency at LABoral Centro de Arte y Creación Industrial in Spain via funding from Creative Europe and with generous support from Arts Council England.

http://myrobotcompanion.com

EXHIBITION FROM NOVEMBER 16th TO DECEMBER 2nd

Every day 3 pm to 6 pm

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

SATURDAY NOVEMBER 17TH

11 am – 5 pm : Workshop – practical and theoretical workshop about the project ArchaeaBot

ESPACE PEDAGOGIQUE – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 Route de la chapelle
18000 Bourges
Anna Dumitriu (1969) is a British artist working with sculpture, craft, installation, biological media, and digital technology to explore our relationship to microbiology, synthetic biology and robotics. Her artistic practice is deeply embedded in laboratory settings and she works hands on with infectious diseases, whole genome sequencing technologies, CRISPR gene editing and building robots. She is artist-in-residence with the Modernising Medical Microbiology Project at the University of Oxford, and with the National Collection of Type Cultures at Public Health England. She holds visiting research fellowships in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire, Brighton and Sussex Medical School, and Waag Society. Prior to her work with the University of Hertfordshire she was a visiting research fellow: artist in residence in the Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics working with artificial life. Dumitriu’s work has a strong focus on the ethical implications of emerging technologies drawing threads across time, exploring future scenarios by reflecting on the past.
Links  Anna Dumitriu on Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin – Artist’s website  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) is a British artist exploring a wide range of digital technologies, most notably video projection onto physical objects (building on the technique known as video mapping or projection mapping by using his own bespoke software), also interactive installations, generative works, full-size humanoid robots, performance, and video art. May is a Visiting Research Fellow: Artist in Residence in the School of Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire.
Links Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  – Artist’s website :  www.alexmayarts.co.uk

ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form*

Anna Dumitriu et Alex May

*Formes de vie Post Singularité et Post Changement climatique : Les Archées-robotes

ArchaeaBot: A Post Singularity and Post Climate Change Life-form est une installation robotique immergée, explorant ce que le mot “vie” pourrait signifier dans un futur post changement climatique et post-singularité. Le projet s’appuie sur de récentes recherches sur les archées ou archaea (les formes de vie les plus anciennes sur Terre), étayé par les dernières innovations relatives à l’intelligence artificielle et à l’apprentissage automatique, pour créer les espèces ‘ultimes’ de la fin du monde tel que nous le connaissons. Une nouvelle étude dévoile les mécanismes grâce auxquels l’ancienne archée appelée Sulfolobus acidocaldarius peut se déplacer pour trouver de la ‘nourriture’, à l’aide de petites flagelles appelées archaella, fonctionnant comme une sorte de moteur à engrenage et permettant de nager alentour. Amanda Wilson notre collaboratrice en cryo-microscopie étudie la structure de ces archaella pour tenter de faire de petits forets en ADN qui pourraient être utilisés pour percer les cellules pour soigner des maladies. Les archaella robotiques ont été fabriquées en impression 3D.

Ce travail est réalisé dans le cadre du projet MARA financé dans le cadre du programme de l’Union Européenne FET Open H2020, au laboratoire Beeby Lab de l’Imperial College à Londres. Il est réalisé en collaboration avec Amanda Wilson, chercheuse et cryomicroscopiste, ainsi qu’avec le Professeur Daniel Polani du Département des Sciences Informatiques de l’Université du Hertfordshire. Le projet est soutenu par la Plateforme Européenne des Arts des Média (EMAP/EMARE) à travers une résidence d’artiste à  LABoral, Centre d’art et de Création Industrielle en Espagne, et grâce à des fonds de Creative Europe et la participation du Conseil des arts d’Angleterre.

http://myrobotcompanion.com

EXPOSITION DU 16 NOVEMBRE AU 2 DÉCEMBRE

Tous les jours de 15h à 18h

CHÂTEAU D’EAU – CHÂTEAU D’ART

35 Rue de Séraucourt
18000 Bourges

SAMEDI 17 NOVEMBRE

11h – 17h : ATELIER – pratique et théorique à propos du projet ArchaeaBot

ESPACE PEDAGOGIQUE – L’ANTRE PEAUX

24-26 Route de la chapelle
18000 Bourges
Anna Dumitriu (1969) est une artiste britannique qui conjugue sculpture, artisanat, installations, supports biologiques, et technologie numérique  pour explorer notre rapport à la microbiologie, à la biologie de synthèse et à la robotique. Sa pratique artistique est profondément ancrée au sein de  laboratoires où elle travaille sur des maladies infectieuses, des technologies de séquençage du génome entier, sur la manipulation génétique CRISPR et la construction de robots. Artiste en résidence au sein du Projet de Modernisation de Microbiologie Médicale de l’Université d’Oxford, et avec la NCTC (Collection   Nationale de Cultures de Référence) du ministère de la Santé Publique en Angleterre, elle est aussi chercheuse invitée et artiste résidente au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire, chercheuse honoraire à l’École de Médecine du Sussex de Brighton, et chercheuse associée à la Waag Society.
Avant d’intégrer l’Université du Hertfordshire, elle a travaillé sur la vie artificielle en tant que chargée de recherche invitée en résidence d’artiste au  Computational Neuroscience and Robotics Centre (Centre de Neurosciences Computationnelles et Robotique). Le travail de Dumitriu se concentre essentiellement sur les implications éthiques des technologies émergentes, tirant des fils à travers le temps, explorant des scénarii futurs en examinant le passé.
Suivre Anna Dumitriu sur Twitter // Instagram // Facebook // Linkedin – Site web de l’artiste  annadumitriu.co.uk
Alex May (1972) est un artiste britannique qui explore un vaste champ de technologies numériques, notamment la projection vidéo sur des corps physiques (s’inspirant de la technique de vidéo mapping en utilisant son propre logiciel qu’il  a confectionné sur mesure), et aussi des installations interactives, des œuvres génératives, des robots humanoïdes à taille réelle, des performances et de l’art vidéo. Il est en résidence d’artiste et chercheur invité au département des Sciences Informatiques à l’Université du Hertfordshire.
Suivre Alex May sur Twitter Instagram Facebook GitHub  – Site web de l’artiste :  www.alexmayarts.co.uk