Unstable Reality and Shifting Knowledges
Mending the Fabric of the World

Reality has become unsteady, slipping through our fingers.

How to get a hold of it when everything is surface within social networks flow, as foam of a wave replacing another that had barely taken shape.

Internet had been dreamed as a global village agora, where to share knowledges and as the artificial consciousness of a finally reunited humankind. It now also turns out as (self) propaganda displaying an egotistical vision of one’s self and of the world.

How to get a hold of it when sciences complexity grows bigger along with bio-technologies opening up to troubling possibles, breeding ground of all dystopian and utopian fantasies.

Between fake news and the reemergence of situated knowledges and of empirical and vernacular knowledges, the Western science crisis also -and mostly- outlines a yearning for re-appropriation and plural knowledges sharing.

How to get a hold of it when certitudes and categories are collapsing, when I literally is an Other, coexisting in the same body with bacteria, when identities are fluid and when genres are multiple.

In a the time when we are rediscovering the systemic inter-dependance of the Living and of the Earth system, when we have only neighbours, in terms of both territories and living beings, from algae and micro-organisms, to plants, and animals, and to our “Human Brothers” living in the same time space we do, but also to those before us, and those yet to be coming, how to reinhabit this world and in our selves?

This 2018 Rencontres Bandits-Mages  edition is based on a selection of pieces created during the artists in residence programme of the EMAP network*.

RÉALITÉ INSTABLE ET SAVOIRS MOUVANTS
RACCOMMODER LE TISSU DU MONDE

Le réel est devenu instable, il glisse entre nos doigts.

Par où l’attraper quand, dans le flux des réseaux sociaux, tout est surface et mousse d’une vague qui en remplace une autre à peine celle-ci formée.

Rêvé comme place du village global, lieu de partage de connaissances et conscience artificielle d’une humanité enfin réunie, Internet s’énonce désormais aussi comme (auto) propagande pour une image égotique de soi et du monde.

Par où l’attraper quand les sciences dévoilent une complexité de plus en plus grande et que les biotechnologies ouvrent à des possibles déconcertants, terreaux de tous les fantasmes utopiques et dystopiques.

La crise de la science occidentale, entre fake news et réémergence des savoirs vernaculaires, empiriques et situés, énonce aussi —surtout— une soif de réappropriation et de partage de savoirs pluriels.

Par où l’attraper quand les certitudes et les catégories s’effondrent, quand Je est, littéralement, un Autre qui cohabite dans le même corps avec des bactéries, quand les identités sont fluides et les genres multiples.

Au moment où nous redécouvrons l’interdépendance systémique du vivant et du système Terre, où nous n’avons plus de lointains, seulement des prochains, que ce soit en terme de territoires ou de vivants, des algues et micro-organismes, aux plantes, aux animaux et à nos « frères humains » qui vivent dans le même temps que nous, mais aussi à ceux d’avant nous et à ceux d’après nous, comment réhabiter le monde et nous-mêmes ?

Cette édition 2018 des Rencontres Bandits-Mages repose sur une sélection d’œuvres issues des résidences de création au sein du réseau EMAP *.